Eva Bindeman wins Leicester Mercury Comedian of the year 2024

Eva Bindeman was awarded the prestigious title of Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024 at The Y Theatre in Leicester on 24 February, as part of Leicester Comedy Festival. Hosted by past contestant, Sindhu Vee and featuring last year’s winner Daniel Petrie.

The competition saw eight of the best emerging comedy acts in the country battling it out for the crown after performing their best seven minutes in front of an esteemed comedy industry panel and a sold-out audience.  The other contestants this year were: Alasdair Wallace, Alex Bertulis-Fernandes, Blank Peng, Fiona Ridgewell, Henry Michael, Julia Stenton and Romina Puma.

Kitty Singleton from Off the Kerb and Georgi McKie from Gag Reflex, Charlotte Lang from The Cabaret Tent, Glastonbury Festival, Mark Boosey from The British Comedy Guide and Patron plus fellow Comedian Eshaan Akbar judged the competition.

On winning the prestigious title, Eva Bindeman said: “It’s shocking and an honour to win Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year and I’m bloody delighted, especially considering how good everyone was!”

The renowned competition, now in its 30thyear, has been a springboard to fame for many comedians. Last year’s winner was Glasgow-based comedian Daniel Petrie and other notable previous winners include Kate Lucas (2014), Romesh Ranganathan (2013), Josh Widdicombe (2010), Rhod Gilbert (2003), Jason Manford (2000) and Johnny Vegas (1997).

Leicester Comedy Festivals & Programme Director, Charlotte Laidet, said: “Every year we are more and more impressed by the level of talent these new acts showcase, and we are extremely proud to run this competition for the 30th time. Congratulations to  Eva Bindeman and to all the acts who participated, I’m sure we will see them all on the circuit for many years.”

The Leicester Comedy Festival took place from Wednesday 7th until Sunday 25th February. To find out more about the event, visit here…

To find out more about the Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year, visit here…

Written by Theatrefullstop